vox ac30 questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• vox ac30 questions

I'm still a little new to guitar and to this amp i managed to receive, but i was hoping to enlist the help of others.

my amp is a 1998 vox ac30 6/tb. It sounds wonderful and i love how clean the normal channel is. However the brilliant channel seems to pose the problem for me. I'm not sure how to increase the gain to get a little bit more distortion. I know the ac30 wasn't made for distortion but i just wanted a little bit more of a boost. I play music in the style of u2, coldplay, radiohead, and mute math.

Basically right now i'm running a mim 72 fender telecaster deluxe reissue striaight into the vox ac30.

I know i probably will need a pedal to boost the gain a bit but will i need a treble booster or will i need a distortion pedal? any suggestions?

Hey,
    perhaps try the mxr micro-amp or something similar to start with. It seems to boost the signal with little coloration to the sound (or so I find). That would push the amp into a natural saturation.

-Dave

Comment

Originally posted by cortezthekiller View Post
      Hey,
      perhaps try the mxr micro-amp or something similar to start with. It seems to boost the signal with little coloration to the sound (or so I find). That would push the amp into a natural saturation.

-Dave
      +1 on the Micro Amp type boost. The Duncan Pickup booster would work, or even an EQ pedal with a volume boost.

Comment

+2 to the boost pedal. I hardly ever use a regular "distortion" pedal anymore. If you're looking to get into the DIY aspect of music electronics, doing a Rangemaster clone is super easy & they sound great. You can get parts at Small Bear electronics.

A Rat is also a good choice for a distortion pedal (preferably an older one with the LM308 chip). They're quite versatile & useful for all sorts of stuff, from bass to drum machines / samples & even vocals.