diy stompbox build question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• diy stompbox build question

hi, i am new to this amazing world of building effects. i just had a few questions like, do i need to use all the right values of the components? which ones can i substitute? and why. i would love some help and a kind push in the right direction. thank you R

Stompbox

Can you say Electrical Engineer?
    Component values are picked according to the criteria of the circuit.

Comment

This is like asking how much water to put in a glass. It really is an "it depends" sorta thing. You have to be way more specific to get a meaningful answer. We'll start with what circuit are you working on and what value of component do you want to tweak and why do you want to tweak it?
      -Mike

Comment

It's a fair question, and I have to say it took me several decades to learn what I could slack off on and what needed attention.

There are a couple of things to pay immediate attention to:

1) Ratings (as opposed to value): In many instances, resistors for effects can be the teeny 1/8w size, though in some instances 1/4 and even 1/2 to 1W sizes are called for. Many schematics will simply assume you bought a bunch of 1/4W units, and that's what you'll use. But 4 times out of 5 (or higher) you can use 1/8W with no fear. Capacitors have voltage ratings, with higher voltage ratings generally being larger and costing a little more. The rule of thumb is that the voltage rating on the cap should be at least 1-1/2 times the highest voltage the cap will see. So, for pedals that operate on a 9v battery, you will usually find 16v-rated caps. Higher ratings is fine and has no implications for the appropriateness of the cap. If all you can find are 50v or 250v units, fine.