Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mesa V Twin problem.

Hello everyone,

I have a V Twin pedal that I plugged the wrong polarity power supply into. Anyone got any ideas to point me in the right direction of the fault. The lights still come on but no sound. Even just pointers for testing it would be brilliant.

Thanks in advance,

Dave "pedal destroyer" O'Neil.

Would you happen to have a schematic we could see.

Comment

Sorry, here is the link to the schematic.

http://www.tubefreak.com/V-Twinp.gif

Comment

I would start by verifying your voltages to the voltage regulators and also check the 4007 and 4148 diodes on the input of the regulators.

Comment

how do I check them? Sorry, I am an electronics novice, although I'm trying to learn. I could have put the v twin in to get fixed, but I thought it would be interesting to try myself. I am trying to gather information on building a valve amp, but just now I need to learn some of the basics.

Comment

Hook your voltmeter to ground. And with your positive lead, meter set to read dc volts, check to see if you have voltage to the Vi on the regulator. If not check to see if you have voltage out of the diodes feeding it. I bet one of the diodes is dead.

Comment

I'm tying to locate the diodes on the board just now. What will the regulator look like?

Comment

Those should be in a TO-220 package, marked 7812 and 7912. The diodes according to the schematic are D13 and D18.

Comment

I've got a voltage on one side of D13 diode but not the other. Is that looking like the likely cause? Thank you so much for the help btw. I've just ordered a new diode, I'll kep you posted how it works out.

Many thanks.

Comment

If the voltage you read is on the input side, make sure you check the output side. There should only be half volt difference or so.

Comment

Originally posted by davefromtheattic View Post
                      ...I have a V Twin pedal that I plugged the wrong polarity power supply into....