Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low hum in a tube echoplex EP2, please help

Hi everyone.
    I have an EP2 that sounds amazing. I actually have two EP2's and one EP3 and this one is by far the best sounding of the three. However, there is a low hum that increases when the volume of the echo is increased that makes the echo pretty much unusable for recording purposes and almost unusable for live use. Are there any things I can do to track the problem down and fix it? All the echoplex repair guys I know of cost a freaking fortune. I am a very novice tech sort of person but am very willing to be patient and learn how to fix this!

the unit currently has the original two prong plug. I was thinking about putting in a 3 prong as it could just be a grounding issue? I can post videos on youtube if that'll help anyone diagnose. Thanks in advance for any help!!

-Bro

Welcome to the place. Which model EP-2, with or without SOS?

Adding a three wire ac cord will not hurt anything, but I doubt that it will cure your problem. In fact I would suggest not changing it until you have the hum sorted out.

If the hum only happens when you turn up the echo volume, then the problem lies in the playback circuitry. It could be a bad tube, a bad head, a bad ground connection or any number of simple components.

Have you tried testing or replacing the tubes? The specific tube that you need to check is V1, a 6EU7 twin triode. If you don't have a new tube, you could just swap the 2 6EU7s and see if the problem changes.

Do you have a multimeter? Do you understand that there are voltages inside this unit that can do you physical harm?

Comment

Generally, it's not a 3 prong plug that will cure it.
      Changing the power supply capacitors and or making the preamp filaments DC, is usually enough.
      But you could just have a bad tube too.
      But old equipment had a lower standard for noise. Hum was considered acceptable, back then.

Comment

ep2 echoplex