Grief trying to fix a vintage Blubber Maxon Wah

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grief trying to fix a vintage Blubber Maxon Wah

Hi guys, it's been years since I posted. I'm an amateur trying to figure why this wah loses 80% of volume when engaged. I attached the schematic. The inductor measures 30 ohms and I replaced the only electrolytic cap (10uf).

Q1
    B +0.69v
    C +4.44v
    E +0.10v

Q2
    B +2.74v
    C +8.91v
    E +3.27v

Click image for larger version

Name:	main.png
Views:	1
Size:	32.4 KB
ID:	870300Click image for larger version

Name:	main.png
Views:	1
Size:	32.4 KB
ID:	870300

I tried all the obvious stuff like bypassing the switch, doubling all ground points with alligator clips.. It's like an inverted volume pedal now. From what I read on other threads is it must be the inductor or the 10uf cap. If the inductor was dead I would read 33k. They say the inductor should read under 100 ohms. Mine reads 30 ohms.

Comment

Are you sure the readings you posted for Q2 are correct? The transistor is biased off. Base voltage is lower than emitter.
      "I took a photo of my ohm meter... It didn't help." Enzo 8/20/22

Comment

Thanks, yes the readings are correct. From what I read Q2-b should be about 1.1v lower than Q1-c (3.4-3.6v). Also the 470k resistor just before the Q2 base is the one that bias Q2. What do you recommend, putting a 1M pot and twist until I get the correct voltage?

Comment

If the pedal acts like a volume control, then my guess is that the second stage is working. The control pot sends an out of phase signal back to the input, so if there is a volume change the second stage must be working.

The problem would be in the tone altering filter network with the coil, the 33K resistor, the 10 uF cap and the 100K resistor. I know that you said you checked all of the ground by bypassing them, but did you check for continuity between components?

Comment