Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JFET newbie questions : overdrive pedal

Hello there,
    i'm new to solid state, i began a overdrive kit based on jfet (J201). https://www.musikding.de/docs/musikd...exi_schalt.pdf

It does not work (no sound at all when engaged) and i started to debug. First i have very little voltage at the drain, the circuit is 9V, so i should have 4.5V ideally, and i have 2V on the first, 1V on the second, and 0.5V on the third. I saw on other JFET circuits that they were using trimmer to set the correct value for the drain resistors, here it's a simple resistor of 15k. If i use a diode tester the jfet seem to be ok and quite identical, so i should get at least the same voltage? No?
    Thanks for advice on debugging this stompbox

Please post the schematic (or a link) you are using. JFETs usually need some circuit changes to work properly, especially when only 9V is available.

Sorry, I didn't see the link you posted. Adjust the 15K resistors higher or adjust the 1Ks in the Source lower.
    Last edited by loudthud; 05-15-2021, 11:29 PM.
    WARNING! Musical Instrument amplifiers contain lethal voltages and can retain them even when unplugged. Refer service to qualified personnel.
    REMEMBER: Everybody knows that smokin' ain't allowed in school !

Comment

It's a clone of a Wampler Plexi-Drive.

Drain voltages measured on an original:
      T1: 4.6V
      T2: 4.7V
      T3: 4.9V

All source voltages around 0.3V.

More info tomorrow. Too late for me now.
      - Own Opinions Only -

Comment

From your drain voltages I suspect you got out-of-spec fets. The fets draw way too much current and at least the third one is in saturation and can't amplify/pass signal.

Real J201s are rare and expensive. I've seen many J201 labeled fets that actually measured as (non desirable) J202 types.

Even real J201s have a parameter spread of a factor 5 and not all of them are well suited for 9V operated gain stages.