Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help repairing MXR Micro Chorus M148 SMD version (post 2008)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help repairing MXR Micro Chorus M148 SMD version (post 2008)

Hi there,

At first, I'd like to thank the community for reading this post, I'm a newbie in electronics and please excuse me for asking maybe silly questions. Also apologies for my broken english...

Here's the story :
    • I'm trying to fix a friend's MXR Micro Chorus mostly equipped with SMD components (rev B).
    • my friends did power by mistake the pedal with 18V or 22V power supply one or two times, bad bad !
    • since then, the pedal led briefly lits on time to time, when switching on the DPDT gently (like a faulty contact behaviour "kind of effect"), but, from a sound aspect, you can't hear the chorus effect really, what ever the knob position. You get the guitar sound though. bypass position or not. You head the guitar sound when switched on, sometimes the led doesn't lit.... Same behavious if I use a 9v power supply or a battery.
    • I unsoldered and tested the DPDT, and it's working pretty fine.
    Here are some pics, I can't provide better now sorry:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2022-10-19 at 16.05.18.jpg
Views:	620
Size:	190.7 KB
ID:	971175Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG20221019151401.jpg
Views:	431
Size:	3.55 MB
ID:	971176
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG20221019151444.jpg
Views:	356
Size:	3.80 MB
ID:	971177

I can't find the schematic on the web, but Fender3D's old model one. This has nothing to do with this current version unfortunately....

The pics included in this post are also identical to my model : https://music-electronics-forum.com/...me-boost-issue.

How could I test the 9V input buffers transistors or diods? Without a diagram, it's very difficult as I don't have an experience (yet , I don't see/smell any burnt component neither.