Noob gibson 490 question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noob gibson 490 question

Hey guys I just found this site about a week ago, I have spent hours upon hours on here. I have to tell you guys right off the bat that this is the best forum I have found. Everyone seems to want to help as much as they can. Not like most other forums where they just argue and piss and moan about who said what to who. Especially to noob's.

Anyway I have a Gibson SG with 490 pickups in it. I was told that they have 4 wires so you could put a coil splitter(like a pushpull) on them to switch between HB and SC? Does this really give a decent single coil sound or is it a completely different sound than both? I am new to electronic mods but I understand somewhat. I am a quick learner and I want to be able to do mods on my own, Just as I have learned everything else about repairing and setting up guitars. The only thing I haven't got into yet is the electronics.
    I don't want to do the mod if the sound of the single coil is not worth the work on my guitar.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated
    Thanks Rob

From this page:

NOTE: Factory-installed 490R and 490T pickups have two conductor wiring.
    If those are the pickups that came in that guitar new, they aren't four-wire, and preclude doing the mod you suggest unless you want to open them up and make wire them up to a four-conductor lead ( I've done this on some pickups, it's certainly doable if you're handy with a soldering iron and can get the covers off without destroying them; but I've never tried it on a Gibson pickup)