Advice for replacing les Paul nut

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for replacing les Paul nut

I have A stellar copy of a les paul . The guitar looks exacly like a gibson. It is the same dimensions and evreything. The nut is worn out and I want to replace it. This is my first time doing it so I need some advice on how to take it out and how to put it back in. Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

Andy

You would have to cut the new nut yourself or it will never be right. Shaping the nut and spacing the slots was a tough job for me as a critical noob some 20 years ago. If you do decide to shape and cut your own my best advice is... Don't be impatient. Cut a little at a time and take the time to check for fit and measurement between small adjustments. The temptation to remove material more vigorously is huge when things are moving slow. But resist the urge.

I reccommend you get three appropriate sized hunks of bone. Whale bone is the preferred material. You will need a set of needle files (that actually have file cuts at their edges), a jewelers saw and several grit grades of sand paper. Since your asking this question I'm sure you get the idea.

Honestly, don't think you can buy 'the right nut for that guitar'. Not going to happen.

Removing the nut is easy. Just wrap a wooden block in a dish towel, place it against the face of the nut (the side that meets the fingerboard) and tap the block very lightly with a small hammer. The original nut will pop right off. A good trick is to put a piece of masking tape over the fingerboard right ahead of the nut. This will help avoid marring the fingerboard and also secure the wood so there will be minimal edge chipping when you tap off the nut.

Chuck
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas