Rewired Jagmaster humming/clicking

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rewired Jagmaster humming/clicking

Hello everybody, I just got this guitar I scored for about $20 revamped with new electronics and caps. I have a kill switch for each pickup and a toggle for each to switch between split and humbucker mode. It sounds amazing and I love it.

Here's the problem.

Problem is worse on hi-gain, but is present at any volume.

I checked cables, tried different amps, etc. I'm certain the issue is internal. What do I do? I have plenty of electronics experience (modding keyboards, not guitars), but I brought this to a guy who had fancy caps and trusted he could do the work, since he'd done similar complicated setups in the past. He proceeded to install the splits without a way to select between pickups (Both were always on). That made me lose a little faith in the dude. After getting it back with this obvious issue, I'd rather fix it myself at this point.

Could someone throw out some ideas for troubleshooting? I'm really just looking for encouragement to take the guitar apart...

If y'all think I need a tech, I'll take it in, but I'd rather not have to spend more money.

By the way, I have all the necessary equipment (soldering iron, wiring, etc.).

Would shielding or star grounding ala guitarnuts.com be helpful for this, or is it just a bad solder? Anyone ever heard something like this?

Comment

the hum when you lift your hand away from any grounded metal part of the guitar is normal. sorry.
      The other clicking noise sounds like external interference from a cell phone. If the noise goes away or changes as you move, the source is external. Did you take the guitar to someone else's house or a store and try it there?

Comment