Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

buzz humm coming from LP traditional and Swart AST Master in my house, but not...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• buzz humm coming from LP traditional and Swart AST Master in my house, but not...

I posted this in the guitar forum, but someone thought that it migh be better posted here:

It's been quite maddening trying to figure out the cause actually, but most people that I have been communicating with (a couple of techs, guys over on the music electronic forum, and the Gibson forum) think that it's an EMF issue. The drag is, that it happens in my house, but not elsewhere (at least the other place that I checked it at). And, it doesn't happen on both of my amps. I have a 75 SFPR that it does not do it with, and I have a Swart AST Master, and it does it with that amp. I also have a Strat Deluxe (silent PUs) and it is silent in the Swart. I took both the Swart and the LP down to a local music store, convincved that the sound would be replicated there. It was not, it was dead quiet. I also tried it at my neighbour's house, who has a load of dimmer switches, and it was much worse in his house. In my house, it is always there, though not always at the same intensity. I have had the amp checked, it's not the amp. It is also quieter when I hold the strings.

Is this normal? I am new to the LP. I figured that the LP with it's humbuckers wouldn't be victim to inadvertent electrical frequencies, but that does not seem to be the case. I was told that the 57 PAFs are assymetrical, and that will cause hum in the neck and bridge position (sometimes), but not in the middle position. And that is true to form where my guitar is concerned. One person suggested that I have the PCB removed from the guitar and get it hand wired, and have the cavity shielded, but I was under the impression that it was already shielded.

Any advice?

Hello:
    Are you handy with a soldering iron and willing to isolate components?

Terry