Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Treble bleed mod question. Why is it needed on some but not on others?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Treble bleed mod question. Why is it needed on some but not on others?

I've been playing guitar for over 20 years at this point. I have changed countless pick ups through out the years. Only until recently (the last 3 years or so) did I require the need for the treble bleed mod. Almost ever guitar I've ever owned in the past I put in Dimarzio pick ups. When I was a kid I threw in whatever volume or tone pot I could find. I never experienced the loss of high end with the volume turned down.

That is until I bought a Washburn Idol a few years back. It came stock with Seymour Duncan '59 and JB combo. The pickups sound great but this was the first instrument that I ever had to deal with the muffled sound with the volume down.

Also, a friend gave me a set of Dragonfire pickups. They sound OK but the same loss of highs occurs.

Out of about 20 guitars this only happens on 3 or 4 of them. My completely stock Gibsons do not do this either. Some of the guitars I own have small (dime size) pots some have the large ones. Some are import some American.

Here is an example: 1980's era korean Les Paul copy, Dimarzio X2N in the bridge, Dimarzio PAF in the neck. Standard (modern LP) wiring using the stock (dime sized) 500k pots, .047 caps on the tone controls. No coil tapping or any other mods.

With this guitar over the entire sweep of the volume control the "tone" stays the same on both neck and bridge. No drop of highs. Back when I used to play out I was using a Marshall Artist 4203 through a 4x12 cab. I never used a footswitch OR the clean channel. To "clean up" the sound for the cleaner parts of the song I would just roll back the volume. Then back up to 10 for the dirty/heavy parts. This is the one of the reasons why I still play this guitar to this day. I want to have this availability on every guitar.