Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sperzal locking tuner question

Hey Folks,

Thought I would drop in and ask if anyone has used the Sperzal locking tuners and if they have removed the rear wheel and if these have a ball bearing at the end of the shaft that goes up against the string?

Reason I'm asking is I bought some GFS locking tuners and they kept cutting the B and E strings when tightening so I noticed the small shaft that tightens up against the string was soft metal and would get an indentation from the string then as you turn the shaft the indentation would cause the string to snap in half. I found a home made remedy to fix this but if memory serves me correctly the Sperzals used a small ball bearing against the string or am I wrong?

Thanks

Not in the Sperzels I've been using for ~8 years, its a pin and I also had trouble snapping the unwound strings (and wound a few times!) when I tightened them so I carefully chamfered the lock hole with a needle file until it didn't cut anymore. I try to have the string really tight in the lock before tuning up, so as to minimize how much gets wound around peg to come to tune; this makes it more stable with whammy use IME.

Now if they were only a higher ratio than 12:1 so I could avoid fine tuning at the bridge...
    Last edited by tedmich; 12-16-2015, 12:26 AM.

Comment

I have Planet Waves tuners on a couple of axes that automatically cut the string for you. It's not a case of that is it? In other words, not a defect but a feature? If so, you have to be careful which way you start the wind.
      "I took a photo of my ohm meter... It didn't help." Enzo 8/20/22

Comment