DiMarzio hot wired in an Acoustic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DiMarzio hot wired in an Acoustic

I have a configuration that I have worked with a high frustration tolerance. There is a DiMarzio Dual and a SDHB mounted in the sound hole. Both are hot wired to their own 1/4 output jacks. What kind of electronics would get rid of noise?

Im new at this.

What noise? Do you have the hot wired as ground?
    It would be possible to describe everything scientifically, but it would make no sense; it would be without meaning, as if you described a Beethoven symphony as a variation of wave pressure. — Albert Einstein

http://coneyislandguitars.com
    www.soundcloud.com/davidravenmoon

Comment

Hot Rod Acoustic

Originally posted by David Schwab View Post
      What noise? Do you have the hot wired as ground?
      Thanks for the response. Im new to the forum

Noise, yes. Forgive me for being so brief in my original post.

At a glance I can say, the humbuckers - hum. No doubt I could do a bunch to cut down on the noise. Just today I cut a new saddle out of alluminum and found that the ground to strings knocked out the static, clicks and snaps outright. I will be adding the "Anti-Shock circuit" as well. So let me back-up a bit to give you a better view of my set-up.

The SDHB (bridge position) is an mid 70s model; there is no model number on the underside, and it has only two leads: one black, one white. DiMarzio of today has 4 leads, as you most likely know already. So, I suspect a problem there, though Im not certain, as I have wired the black to hot and the white to ground. Iv been all over the DiMarzio site and there's nothing in the FAQ.

The DSHB (towards the neck) is also from the 70s, yet it has 3 leads: red, white, and black. I connected red & white to output, and the black open (cut) and the braid to ground.