MIM Fat Strat set up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MIM Fat Strat set up

Just picked it up brand new and cheap on ebay... I'm new at set up so I got a few questions.

The light (.10) bullets are lifting the bridge too high off the body, 3/16 or more... I tightened the spring tension screws a bit but don't want to over tighten. It has 3 tremelo springs and I was thinking of adding 1 or 2 more to draw the bridge closer (1/8) to the body. good or bad idea? are 3 springs better for extra light(.09) strings?

The single coil pickups are tilted and the poles are all different heights and it doesn't look intentional. How do I clean this situation up?

What type and size wrench for head stock truss rod adjustment. Is it 1/8th allen?

Originally posted by mrski View Post
    Just picked it up brand new and cheap on ebay... I'm new at set up so I got a few questions.

The light (.10) bullets are lifting the bridge too high off the body, 3/16 or more... I tightened the spring tension screws a bit but don't want to over tighten. It has 3 tremelo springs and I was thinking of adding 1 or 2 more to draw the bridge closer (1/8) to the body. good or bad idea? are 3 springs better for extra light(.09) strings?
    Some people like the bridge to float a little for upbends, but with 9's and even 10's, three springs are fine. Just tighten them as much as you need to get the bridge where you want it. 9's might just do the trick without adjusting the springs. If you don't used the vibrato much, you can add another spring.

The single coil pickups are tilted and the poles are all different heights and it doesn't look intentional. How do I clean this situation up?