Home made guitar preamp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home made guitar preamp?

So, i have this little volume controller circuit board from an old "build it yourself" am/fm radio kit. I was curious to know, if i install it in my guitar, will it act effectively as a preamp? i dont know how it will affect tone, because i've never used a preamp before. is it even possible/safe to do this?

Here are a few pictures of the circuit:

it has wires for signal in/out and the battery wires. it originally used the 6v supplied by the 4x AA batteries in the radio, but since then I have lost the battery holders.... so would it be safe to use a 9v battery?

basically my questions are.... would it work, is it safe, and what should i expect for results?

If it is a LM4558 opamp or such it won't care. I would make sure that any electrolytic caps are rated at more than 9 volts. If they are 6v caps they might pop. I can't see that using it as a preamp will hurt anything. It might just sound like crap. The input and output loads may not be matched for a guitar and amp. An easy way to bring the power supply voltage down without a regulator if you need to is to put rectifier diodes in series on the B+ side. Each one will bring it down .6v or so. 4 foreward biased in series would bring your 9v closer to 6v. Or you could just replace the caps. BTW, there are some really good guitar preamp kits out there that do the same thing right that don't cost much. General Guitar Gadgets comes to mind but there are lots of others. They have schematics on line though which might be usefull in modding what you have.

Comment

well, 2/5 of them are rated for 16v, and the other 3 are 50v, so i think im good as far as voltage goes.

the chip on the PCB says:

386D
      JRC
      9116D

(dont know if any of that is useful... but i figured id post it just incase)