Needing a suggestion from pro's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Needing a suggestion from pro's

Sorry if this is the wrong forum in specific..

Alright. I'm an audio engineer. And I've come to realize more and more with recording that the guitar pickup itself (in the right guitar through the right rig) is critical to the the in far more ways than I realized in my younger days of just guitar playing. I know that I have two pickups I really love for recording.

I'm big into prog metal and the such.

One obvious choice is the SD SH-4. The other might sound strange for my music interests but I really love the PRS Dragon 2.

I've come to the conclusion that neither pickup nails it for my own persnal tastes. And I've heard so much good about boutique hand wound pickups that I'm gonna skip over the big manufacturers and try something new.

The lower gain on the Dragon 2 through a higher gain amp (VHT Pittbull 50)

Is just tight and punchy as hell. The harmonics are good. It beats out the SH-4 in just about every way. The only problem is that I do appreciate the gain and oomph the SH-4 gives me.

What I want is something hand wound that takes the best of both worlds, and if magically possible, improves on them.

Anybody make such a pickup? Anyone here? Should I be looking into Bareknuckles or the likes on those superior hand wounds?

Thanks guys, this forum is brilliant, so I've got no doubts I'll be pointed in the right direction.

Originally posted by xSweep View Post
    Alright. I'm an audio engineer.

I've got no doubts I'll be pointed in the right direction.
    The description you gave is not very clear, as you don't give any point of comparison.

What guitar are you using and whose tone are you after? Are those tones for the recording instrument or live setting? That'll be a good starting point, then we can elaborate.
    Pepe aka Lt. Kojak
    Milano, Italy

Comment

Sorry if this is the wrong forum in specific..