magnetic pickup for gypsy jazz guitar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• magnetic pickup for gypsy jazz guitar

I'm thinking of making a pickup for my manouche guitar somewhat similar to a floating Benedetto pickup made out of wood. It would attach to the end of the neck and sit on the soundboard between the sound hole and the neck. I'm thinking of using 6 1/8" x 1/8" neo magnet rods and probably some 42 HF. I've never worked with neodymium before so i don't know if that size of rod will be strong enough or too strong. Can anyone forsee problems with this design idea? I'm not even sure how many winds it would take and if I should use a thinner guage to beef up the signal. Any ideas welcome!
    thanks...

btw, there is about 7/16" of distance from the guitar top to the bottom of the strings

It should work but you may need to adjust magnet heights to get a balance across the strings. If you used alnico you could adjust amplitude by demagnetizing rather than having to move the magnets up and down. No way to demagnetize neodymium.

I've heard that taller magnets have proportionally taller fields, something to consider. Also limiting your coil height to 1/8" will severely limit the number of turns of 42 or will cause the turns to be so far away from the magnets as to quickly lose some umph. I'd wind the coil on a rigid bobbin and then pop the flat work off after you've potted the coil so that it will remain as thin as possible with the greatest number of turns.

Comment

Originally posted by David King View Post
      It should work but you may need to adjust magnet heights to get a balance across the strings. If you used alnico you could adjust amplitude by demagnetizing rather than having to move the magnets up and down. No way to demagnetize neodymium.