Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Saying Hi, asking about some basics

This forum is stupid addicting.

So, I'm one of those "obsessed" people. I'm probably obsessed more with cars that music gear, but that's only because I've got a much firmer grasp on how it all works. I'm a designer through and through. I'm not happy with knowing HOW to make something, but WHY to make something a particular way. I like to really know the details and remove the mysteries that seem to plague the ignorant.

So that being said, I hope to eventually make some pickups for myself, and I've got ideas for building guitars down the road, which would probably benefit from custom pickups since my ideas are so odd anyways.

I've read as many links as I could find on pickup making and I'm still left with a LOT of questions. If anyone has any answers, or links to where I might find the answers I'd greatly appreciate it.

1. What is the exact tonal difference from one gauge wire to the next, if the mass of the wire is the same? Obviously 7000 winds of 42 gauge will sound different than 7000 winds of 40 gauges, but the mass is not even comparable.

2. Why are the common depths of a pickup common? What happens when you make a pickup "deeper", or "taller"? Does a stronger magnet allow a shallower pickup design? Vice versa? I've found very little information on why certain pickup heights are used.

3. Why don't we cover the pickups with a non-magnetic metal like aluminum? It seems to me that if you covered a pickup in aluminum and grounded the cover then that would help shield the pickup from some (not all obviously) noise. Plus it looks b^@$#in'.

4. Why do I have a hard time finding info on other magnetic materials used and how the actually sounded? I'm particularly interested in experiments with rare earth magnets. Seems to me that they might have their benefits.

Well, that's a start I guess. I'm sure I'll come up with more, but that's what's been nagging me lately.