Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• P-90 Newbee need advice

Hi guys

I have little experience winding (with good results) Fender style single coil pickups, but here I'm building a John LENNON Les Paul Junior Custom clone (or style) guitar, and I need advice from experience guys about P-90 pickup, well I think I'm at the right place

Pictures are at : John LENNON Les Paul Junior Custom clone or style - DIY

I bought from Mojo a plastic bobbin for the P-90 bridge pickup, one side of the bobbin have two holes and the other side have a center nutch (or slut).

1 - Does the two holes are made for the wiring, ground in one hole and hot in the other one ?

2 - If so, do I need to install metal eyelets in these holes ? I plan to use original Gibson style metal braid sheild wire with the hot in the middle of the wire.

3 - Does the two holes should be oriented on the bottom or on the top of the bobbin ?

4 - What kind of glue is best for the two magets ? I have some Alnico V bar magnets.

The neck pickup (Charley CHRISTIAN style) will be more Custom made, I'm going to build a steel rail with two Alnico V magnets under the base (P90 style). Not a real clone but rather "style" pickup.

5 - Should the poles of the two pickups be oriented the same way, North, North or South South or one pickup North and the other one South ?

6 - I have some Essex magnet wire 42 guage, is 10,000 turns is a good target ?

7 - 10,000 turns for both pickups ?

8 - I also have in stock four neodymium bar magnets that are 2 inchs long x 1/2 inch wide and .062 thick, can you see any use in my project or should I stick with the Alnico V bar magnets ?

9 - How thick is a "real" Charley Christian pickup over the body ? I plan to radius the rail at 12 inchs to match the 12 inch radius finger board and the ABR-1 bridge.

Well, that about it.
    Thank you all for your help and support, I should be able to build something "decent" with these questions reply.
    Jean GODBOUT