Polishing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Polishing

I'm trying to polish some nickle silver covers and baseplates..
    Is there any polishing compound, grinding wheels, sanding stones or in general, any equipment and supplys that I should perchase. You know what they say....Good Tools, Good Work.
    Thanks In Advance

I get quite a lot of parts plated. I don't know what compounds are used but contact a platers for advice. Polishing nickel is a long drwn out process and I do know they use a stock buffing wheel.
    sigpic Dyed in the wool

Comment

Jeweler's rouge.

Comment

another whole career field...

You need to start looking at jewelry supply catalogs. Jeweler's rouge is a general all purpose polish and probably not good for what you want to do.

You'll need a polishing arbor, and buffs for different grades of polish. I haven't done any polishing in a long time so am out of touch, but I polished silver and gold jewelry alot when I was a jewelry artist. There are cutting polishes, and final polishes, you'll have to do research on nickel silver to find whats recommended. You'll need to wear a mask or have a polishing arbor that has a vacuum exhaust. You need the polishing arbor because you'll need buffs that are big enough to handle the job, you can't do this stuff with a dremel, no way. there are guys in the jewelry industry who do nothing but polishing, its something you'll have to learn, not a simple easy thing. Between each grit of polishing you have to completely clean off the polish compound from the work piece of the previous polish or you'll contaminate the piece and get scratches in the finish. I used to use amonia in a ultrasonic cleaner to get it all off, its tough stuff to clean off.

There are polishes that will easily strip the plating you're removing with acid too. I wish I had all my gear still, sold it all on Ebay when I quit......
        http://www.SDpickups.com
        Stephens Design Pickups

Comment