If six was seven?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• If six was seven?

First up, hello to you all, this is my first post here in the PU maker's and I have to say that I've enjoyed reading through all your informative and amusing threads so far in my lurking capacity.

Now, down to business... I was wondering recently about making my own pickup design for a seven string that I am currently making with help from a good friend of mine. I'm thinking double humbucker set with nice jazzy tones at the neck but plenty of crunchybark in the bridge for some nice chunka-chunka riffage when the gain is upped. (Please forgive the inept pre-school descriptions, I am new at this after all)

My question to you guys is this, would it be viable to have a seven-string guitar with a six pole-piece Pickup fitted?

Yeah, gotcha. I knew that would get the blood boiling, LoL. But really, I think it would be a nice visual if the humbucker had six 'mini-blade' poles across it, one side covering strings 1-2, 3-4 and 5-6 while the other side of the 'bucker covered strings 2-3, 4-5 and 6-7, almost like a P-bass type setup but overlapped in a single humbucker pickup. Imagine the scratchy-head looks as people notice the six pole-pieces underneath the seven string setup... Guaranteed conversation starter, no? LoL.

Please, in your own inimitable style, discuss/dismiss and give feedback... I've never seen anything like this before and I'd seriously like to know if something like this could work. Many thanks if you're still reading this and haven't decided I'm a no-brainer already, BTW, I just like to push boundaries and try different approaches to things... Must be the Gemini in me.
    "Maybe when we tinkerers just try different things and see what happens, it's insulting to people who earned specialized skills over years of hard study?"