Help needed for pole spacing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help needed for pole spacing

I am fairly new to pickup winding and would like to ask two questions. First is the pole spacing on a Gibson Les Paul or SG the same in the bridge and neck position? (as well on guitars such as Strats and Teles)

And is there a purpose or difference to string spacing for both humbuckers and single coils? Or it is only dependent on the spacing of your bridge?

Thanks, Gorjan

Originally posted by gorjan View Post
    I am fairly new to pickup winding and would like to ask two questions. First is the pole spacing on a Gibson Les Paul or SG the same in the bridge and neck position? (as well on guitars such as Strats and Teles)

And is there a purpose or difference to string spacing for both humbuckers and single coils? Or it is only dependent on the spacing of your bridge?

Thanks, Gorjan
    Hi Gorjan,

To answer your questions, in general the polepiece spacing on a Les Paul or SG type guitar is the same for both the neck and the bridge. As far as I recall, only for some of the vintage archtops was the polepiece spacing different between the two. Typically the polepiece spacing on most Gibson humbuckers will be 49.2 mm. On many imports and other makers humbuckers the polepiece spacing will be 50mm. As far as why there is a different polepiece spacing for single coils it is because of the spacing of the strings on the Stratocaster mainly. Most people like to have the polepieces match up to the strings so there is one pole per string. Actually that isn't totally necessary for the pickups to function, but it does affect string volumes a little IMO. Here is kind of a guide to the various polepiece spacings (E to E) for humbuckers.

46 mm - you will not find any hardware like baseplates or bobbins for this spacing but it was used by Gibson on some archtop P.A.F pickups