Would anybody buy flatwork?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would anybody buy flatwork?

Although I'm just getting into winding (yes, another damn newbie), I've found places like Stewmac to be expensive. When I was buying wire, the company I chose told me they also make dies and punch various materials. If I could get a good forbon substitue and a set of dies made, would anybody be interested in purchasing Strat flatwork? Not sure of cost yet, but from what I calculated (read guessed)would be about $1.20 a pickup. I don't want to get a set of dies made, buy material and end up with 3000 sets of flatwork!
    www.chevalierpickups.com

i would be interested.

please take note...if you don't get much of a response to this inquiry, don't let that deter you....why?....because many folks come on the forum and promise parts but nothing ever materializes...folks are tired of responding

All I have to say is make em and people will buy...that is if they are high quality parts. Folks here want the good stuff....no junk.

If you decide to go forward with it, make sure you provide the vendor with a control/mechanical drawing and even request to see a prototype (you might have to pay a little for this though)...but a least you know it will be done to your specs.
    www.guitarforcepickups.com

Comment

I realize the implications. I've read the ZAMM postings about parts that never materialized. I've already sent them a dimensioned CAD dwg of the layout for both top and bottom pieces. I should have a quote for the dies by Monday - Tuesday. From that, it will be material price. They have something that looks itentical to 70's grey in both required thicknesses. If the die cost is not limiting, I may do it regardless of interest. I would provide a free sample to those few interested, they can decide on the quality level they require from there.
      www.chevalierpickups.com

Comment

If you are going to make Grey flatwork and it's quality I'll buy from you.