Making recordings to compare pickups

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making recordings to compare pickups

I am a full-time pro player. Lately I keep getting more and more interested in pickups. I suppose it's like getting obsessed with the culinary arts in your home kitchen.

Currently I am interested in measurement, and it occurred to me that I could benefit from doing a better job with the test recordings of pickups I'm recording. I could use some help figuring out how to make those recordings. I have done this some already, using a hogged out, quick-change mule guitar and whatever DAW session I'm working on at the moment

I am trying to balance the ideas of repeatable/directly comparable performances with the necessity of hearing a pickup used on real music in an ensemble. I think it's obvious why repeatability/comparability is desirable, but I also think it is informative to hear myself playing the pickup IRL - I mean just going into the zone and playing the instrument as my prosthetic voice without thinking about gear at all. Some gear just bonds effortlessly with my mind, pretty much instantly - I'll sit down to evaluate a pickup I just wound and suddenly it's 45 minutes later and I remember what I was supposed to be doing. That kind of bond - or the lack of it - I guess the degree of it - effects the performance and that's part of what I want to get a sense of. All things held constant (they never are IRL) I play better on "better" gear - better being more natural, nothing that draws attention away from the music.

Basically I want to make recordings to compare how a pickup sounds and feels to use on actual work, and I'm wondering how much stuff I can control/keep the same between iterations. Basically I want to gather impressions much faster than putting a set of pickups in a guitar and using it in clubs and whatever for a month.

So far here are my collected ideas. I could really use some input/ideas