Need some technical help wiring in a tachometer on a Lollar style winder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some technical help wiring in a tachometer on a Lollar style winder

I bought a "real" cheap tachometer off ebay (in transit from China currently) that I want to install on my Lollar style winder. It is not a "no-voltage" input signal like the turn counter I installed and I have no background in electronics what-so-ever. I need help (instruction) on how to wire the tachometer so I don't wreck it. I want to use a reed switch triggered off of a magnet on the drive pulley (which is how I drive the turn counter). I have attached the instructions from the tachometer. Since I am not providing the input in the form of some kind of wave generation, I'm guessing I must use the alternate wiring which has 3 wires: ground, signal, voltage, plus a resistor. I would really appreciate help to set this up property.

tachometer manual.pdf

Thanks in advance.

Take Care,

Jim. . .
    Last edited by kayakerca; 10-01-2011, 06:49 PM.
    Take Care,

Jim. . .
    VA3DEF

most probably this is going to be a silly question but....
    why a tachometer and not a counter?

Comment

Originally posted by Corcia View Post
      most probably this is going to be a silly question but....
      why a tachometer and not a counter?