God, how I HATE vero-board!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• God, how I HATE vero-board!

Okay, I know a lot of people love this way of constructing circuits, but I have just never had any succes with it.

Long story short, I've been soldering for almost 20 years now, and I've been producing amps and effects for people at reasonable prices for the last 8 years, to support my studies. I've had zero complaints about the stuff I do and at most I have a failure-rate of 1-2% within the first year, and all failures are due to components malfunctioning and not the work I do.

Now, having done a bit of halo polishing, I am going to tell you about my relationship with the vero-board method of constructing circuits.

I've built a lot in the last years - about 150 amps and twice that in buffers and pedals, with or without tubes. I've made PCB's, built on perfboard and done turret boards, eyelet boards and tag strips and everything's been honky dory. However, whenever I try to the "easy way" and use vero to build a one-off, the damn thing NEVER works! And trust me, I've tried everything - using a magnifying glass to find solder bridges, checking everything, using only verified layouts and checking it against the schematic.

When I first built something on vero, a complex auto wah, I never got it to work. I stuffed it down into a drawer, and continued to work on my other projects. A year after that I tried using vero again as an easy way to do a quick project - again this did not work for me - weird errors that I didn't have the patience to debug.