Save the Leslie motors!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Save the Leslie motors!

As a Hammond/Leslie tech, I regularly rebuild the two-speed motor assemblies (motor stacks) in Leslie cabinets. I'm posting about it here because I'm finding more and more that these motors aren't brought in for service until it's too late to save them. By the time they are noticeably noisy or failing to work like they should, they are often irreparably damaged, particularly the shafts and bearings of the slow motors. No one is making replacement rotors or bearings for these motors. You can buy a replacement slow motor, but they are $60-$80 apiece.

If you have a Leslie with a two-speed motor assembly from the 60s or 70s that hasn't had maintenance done, it’s a given that the motors need to be serviced. Do yourself a favor and get it done *before* you notice problems; otherwise, it's like driving a car and never changing the oil. You can oil them yourself if you feel up to the task, but some disassembly may be needed to get to the fast motor bearing that faces the slow motor. The bearings should be re-oiled with electric motor oil or turbine oil (two names for the same thing). Never use 3-In-One Multi-Purpose Oil; their oil specifically for electric motor bearings is OK. Zoom Spout turbine oil or Hammond Organ oil (fresh, not a tube that's 40 years old!) works very well.