Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• vox super continental power but no (really really low) output

Hi guys,
    got a vox super continental, old and pretty rough but worked...until someone pull the ac chord out along with the guts from the power supply. sparks and all.
    Re-built the power supply but didn't replace the ASZ18 transistor as exact voltages were all present at the right places...
    hooked up to and amp I get a very quiet signal, amp on max volume, barely hear a signal.
    I'm not a pro with transistors so can anyone tell me if this ASZ18 would be the problem...I know this has an obvious answer.."try it", they're just hard to find.. AND I'm getting the correct voltages..thanks for any and all suggestions

Where is the ASZ18 located in the circuit? If you can hear all of the organ tones and all of the other features work but the output is low, I'd look for a broken wire or a bad coupling cap in the output section that comes after the drawbars. Trace the wiring from the output jack backwards to the drawbars and see what you find.

Comment

Originally posted by 52 Bill View Post
      Where is the ASZ18 located in the circuit? If you can hear all of the organ tones and all of the other features work but the output is low, I'd look for a broken wire or a bad coupling cap in the output section that comes after the drawbars. Trace the wiring from the output jack backwards to the drawbars and see what you find.
      Thanks 52 Bill, the ASZ18 is in the power supply box and is fed by the rectifier, -16v , and supplies -8v. I will trace the path as you suggest...I really appreciate you getting back to me, fresh perspective and all that. Thanks.

Comment

If the transistor is part of the voltage regulator and the voltages are all okay, then I wouldn't worry about it. Check the audio circuits at the output stage.

Comment