hurdy gurdy piezos - help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hurdy gurdy piezos - help!

Hi -I need some help here! After several requests from customers to fit piezo hotspots to my hurdy gurdies, I've decided to try and sort it out.
    Basically, I want to use 3 piezos. Two to go through a blend pot and then that signal to be one channel and the 3rd piezo to be the other.
    So, here's the problem - how do I actually do the wiring on the blend pot and also the 3 pin XLR to get a stereo output? I really could do with a diagram or schematic. I've already tried using the blend pot wiring diagram on StewMac website, but when I connect up the XLR it seems I only get a mono output. Also, I want the blend pot to work like the balance pot on a hifi, but it doesn't seem to do that.
    As you may have gathered, I might be a hurdy gurdy maker but I'm a total novice when it comes to this sort of thing.
    An idiots guide would be much appreciated!
    Thanks.....

Alwig,

We can always use more hurdy gurdy makers - fascinating instrument, I've got a acquaintance in E. TN who makes them and the amount of labor is somewhat amazing.

Anyhoo, piezo PUs want to "see" a truly high input impedance - in the order of ten mega ohms or so - before they're "happy. And I'll admit that I'm not much of a fan of the sound of piezos and this sound only sounds worse with an impedance mismatch.