Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wiring a 3-way switch into a speaker cabinet?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wiring a 3-way switch into a speaker cabinet?

Hi. First off, I'm new to this so forgive me for my ignorance. I'm sure this is a stupid question but please indulge me.

I started building speaker cabinets for guitar amps last year. I've got the woodworking part down pat - no problems there. However, I'm totally new to all things electrical. The cabs I've built so far were wired the old fashioned way - 1/4" jack to the speakers. That's it, nothing fancy.

I'm building a 2x12 cab for a buddy of mine to use in his studio. He wants to mix two different speakers. This may be a dumb idea in the first place, but if was wondering if I could wire in a signal switch so he can have the signal go to one speaker, or the other, or both simultaneously. I play a telecaster with two pickups - bridge and neck. The pickup switch allows me to play through one or the other, or both. Is it possible to wire speakers the same way, and if so, how difficult? Also, would running the signal through a switch like that weaken or degrade the signal from the amp in any way.

I think for studio applications, being able to switch up the speaker configurations would give a cabinet a lot of versatility with just one little mod.

Mixing two speakers each with different characteristics is sometimes done (e.g., Bogner Alchemist) but mainly they're not switched due to the impedance being matched to a particular amp. With solid-state this becomes less of an issue, though you drop some output power when switching from lower to higher impedance say, from 4 Ohms to 8 Ohms.

Running through a switch won't degrade the signal unless the switch is defective.