Master volume and treble loss

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Master volume and treble loss

As we all know volume controls are very touchy down low on the dial. For a clean sound I'm running at about .5 (that's one-half of one) and it's a bit of a pain to get it just right. So I generally just set roughly where I want it and then use the master volume to control the actual volume.

I have a Ken Fisher type PPI master on the amp. mod101_ppimv_master_volume_mod.pdf (tubesandmore.com) The problem is that when I turn down the master, I lose treble. So then I have to do this dance of balancing the two volume controls to get the best sound, which defeats the whole purpose of using the master in the first place.

Can I install bypass caps on the master to recover the lost treble?

Err it would be helpful to provide the specifics of the amp you’re asking about
    My band:- http://www.youtube.com/user/RedwingBand

Comment

Yes you could.

But the actual place where treble is lost in the amp is the vol pot and the input capacitance of V1b at low vol settings.
      Have you tried a bright cap of 47p to 150p across the vol pot?

Also I wonder why you use a dual 100k master pot. That low value loads down the PI output. I would use a dual 470k pot instead and try 100p to 330p bright caps if necessary. But as the MV is within the NFB loop, the bright effect will be small.
      - Own Opinions Only -

Comment

No treble loss
        Click image for larger version

Name:	MV mod.GIF
Views:	704
Size:	181.7 KB
ID:	920076
        It's All Over Now

Comment

Originally posted by vintagekiki View Post
          No treble loss
          Click image for larger version  Name:	MV mod.GIF Views:	0 Size:	181.7 KB ID:	920076
          The OT's MV doesn't cause treble loss either (except maybe for some Fletcher- Munson effect at low volume). Don't forget pentode input capacitance is very small.

And cross-phase MVs cause bass loss at low settings.