Pioneer DM-40 PC Speakers Repair Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pioneer DM-40 PC Speakers Repair Help

Hi, I have Pioneer DM-40 PC Speakers that are in need of repair. I used them on a system that had an internal amp and later found out not to do that as there is one already in the speaker. When i plug it into the PC and turn it on it makes a very loud buzzing noise and pushes the cone out. No audio will play. If i have both speakers connected the right speaker had the loud buzzing and the cone get physically hot after a little while. If i only have the left plugged in it isnt as loud but still buzzes. The left speaker connects the 2 speakers together, connects to the PC and power. The Right speaker only has the connection going to the other speaker. I have included some video of the issue and photos of the speakers. If you need anything else let me know.

I have some soldering experience (But limited component knowledge) and want to try and repair it myself if possible. I will be greatly appreciated for any help offered.

Click image for larger version

Name:	20211201_231815.jpg
Views:	1939
Size:	2.85 MB
ID:	946196 Click image for larger version

Name:	20211201_231909.jpg
Views:	1891
Size:	2.05 MB
ID:	946197 Click image for larger version

Name:	20211201_232034.jpg
Views:	1876
Size:	3.42 MB
ID:	946198 Click image for larger version

Name:	20211201_232212.jpg
Views:	1849
Size:	2.60 MB
ID:	946199
    Attached Files

If the cone is moved to it full excursion as it makes a noise then you have DC on the speaker.
    The amplifier has failed.
    Without access to service information, you may be wasting your time.
    Take it to an authorised Pioneer service centre for repair.

I would suspect the output IC and/or power supply.
    Support for Fender, Laney, Marshall, Mesa, VOX and many more. https://jonsnell.co.uk
    If you can't fix it, I probably can.

Comment