Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GND Scheme questions

Hello,

I've some questions about a good GND scheme. I read a few articles and I didn't see any consent about it. So, I draw two schemes. Wich one is better?

Scheme 1.

each XLR cable has its shielded cable​. And chassis to pin 1. IEC earth anywhere bolt on the chassis, near the IEC connector.

Scheme 2.

Only first input have the shield cable to the pin 1. Pin 1 distribute shield to the others connectors, rest of the XLR cable only have shield at one end. Chassi and IEC earth soldered to pin 1 of input connector.

I read that the earth connection of the IEC socket need to be near to input power, bolt on chassis. Some others says that the earth connection need to be soldered at pin 1 of the XLR input connector.

Any suggests?
    Attached Files

hi, (I am no expert, but 1 (but with each XLR connector pin 1 having a short connection to chassis) looks more correct to me).

(My understanding) pin 1 should have a very short connection to chassis, otherwise you give opportunity for RF to come in and spray around (example: very recent Schoeps microphones have a sort of metal piece with fingers around it (pin 1 connects to this piece and 2 and 3 are isolated) that connects to the mic body (I think it's safe to presume it's metal). So the idea seems to be to make the pin 1 connection to chassis as low impedance as practical (I think this is *part of* their measures to deal with RF and not the only one). Other mics with a long wire from pin 1 to chassis inside the mic can apparently have RF problems.