Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Peavey Transtube 112

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Peavey Transtube 112

    I own a Peavey Bandit Transtube 112 amp which has a 2 button footswitch. One button switches between two channels, and the other turns the boost on and off. The same pedal is used by Peavey on other amps and the second button activates the reverb on the other amps.

    Anyway, I tried to add LEDs to the footswitch. This is what I did .... I measured voltage at the switch and got 15 volts.....I then went to Radio Shack and bought LEDs that were rated for between 12 and 16 volts, and intalled them....the LEDs worked, but the switch did not activate the functions it was supposed to....I then measured resistance and got about 1.7 on each LED.....

    Can someone help me out with this......I am not electronically inclined.


    The Peavey switch part number is 5436.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Mars Amp Repair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Nampa, ID
    Posts
    842
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 24/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Most led's run off of about 1.2 volts & always some sort of current limiting resistors in series with them. I have to assume that is what Ratshack did with those leds.
    If they didn't, then that is why you're measuring such low resistance across those leds as they are probably shorted now. In fact if you are using the diode checker setting on your meter, they should only read one direction & then only around 1.2v drop in the one direction.
    I'm not certain about how the switching works on the bandit, but it might not be able to correctly power the led's without affecting the switching circuitry, in other words, they led's themselves might be enough to keep the feature activated even when the led is on.

    glen

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the help. Someone suggested using DPST switches and adding a 9 volt battery to power the LEDs independently.....I think I might try that.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    33,497
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,543/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    57
    If the LEDs light, they are OK, and those 1.7v readings are normal. LEDs don't have voltage ratings, are you sure the package didn't say 15milliAMPs.

    I don't have the schemo handy, but the current through the LEDs is enough to trigger the circuits in the amp, THAT is why it no longer switches. Though it would reduce the brightness, adding resistamce in series with the LED might help.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Peavey 400BH
    By amplover in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-18-2009, 01:26 AM
  2. Peavey Valveking 112 Mod ?
    By msclford in forum Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-18-2008, 02:07 AM
  3. Noisy Peavey 5150 II
    By Thorny in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-23-2006, 10:14 PM
  4. Peavey Ultra Plus doesn't power up
    By JaxBeach44 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2006, 02:19 PM
  5. half a peavey classic 60/60!
    By mocklah in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-27-2006, 10:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •