Twin Reverb tremolo trouble shoot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Twin Reverb tremolo trouble shoot

Hi - I'm trying to get the trem circuit working on an early master volume (non-pp) twin reverb. All electrolytics have been replaced
    but the feedback caps have not. The bug flashes and all voltages are about right on V5. Intensity pot resistance checks out, speed pot affects the bug properly. Everything else about the channel seems fine just no sign of tremolo (other than ticking)

The voltage varies from about 300v-150v on pin 1 of v5 with the trem jack grounded. Can I assume that the feedback caps are good if this is the case? The resistors check out except for the 2.2 meg at the bias supply - that measures about 1.3 megs (in the circuit)

I have very little experience with these circuits - where else should I be looking for problems?

Thanks.

If the lamp in the bug is flashing, then the oscillator is working. I'd be checking the LDR portion of the bug.
    -tb

"If you're the only person I irritate with my choice of words today I'll be surprised" Chuck H.

Comment

Do I just measure the resistance of the LDR while it is flashing? - Looks like 1.6 meg with the light out and then it fluctuates when flashing.

Comment

Originally posted by spicoli View Post
        Do I just measure the resistance of the LDR while it is flashing? - Looks like 1.6 meg with the light out and then it fluctuates when flashing.
        The light side of the bug is flashing, then the relay side is where to check. Be sure one leg is to ground, the other leg has continuity to intensity pot. Check all connections at intensity pot to their respective points, ground and "Y". If all connections are good, possibly a bad bug. If there a 'tick' sound, add a .01 cap from 10 meg resistor to ground point of bug.

Comment