Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brass base plate?

Hey guys, newbie here.
    I've recently started winding pups. Done some research (here, & other places) to help improve the outcome, but sadly, I've yet to wind a neck pup that wasn't muddy/dark.
    Using 42awg (elektrisola single build pe) from Remington industries, I've wound 1 pup to a mid 8k (I'm only doing buckers ATM) with an A5 mag,
    1 pup to a mid 7k w/A5, & 1 wound to a very low 6.6ish k.
    The first 2 (mid 8k, & mid 7k) were mounted on nickel silver base plates, & despite adjusting the height, & poles, are still very dark.
    The third, I bought a "kit" from Guitar parts USA, which had a brass base plate.
    I figured that the lower wind, mid 6k would be the ticket to a "brighter" neck pup, but no dice. Still mud/dark
    I've read that the brass base will tend to a darker pup, so my next move will be to swap the brass for a nickel silver base.
    Also worth mentioning, is the fact that I was actually "holding" the wire by hand, to control the tension, & traverse.
    I've since put a tension control (clothes pin & felt) on my winder, & have hillbilly engineered an eyelet on a rod between two brackets, to control the traverse by hand, without touching the wire.
    I've had pretty decent luck with the bridge position (as it tends to be brighter anyway), not claiming great success, but usable, but I got into the winding game to build a neck pup that wasn't dark/mud, as everything I've tried so far in my guitars (VMLP, & SG standard '10, & 06 respectively), has left me with a bad taste, except the "custom wound" set that cost me too much, the neck pup from the set is 7.22k with an A5 mag, & was a bit tricky to get set up to where I could live with it.
    Both guitars are all mahogany, which I've read also tends to be a bit on the dark side.

Bottom line, I'm wondering if anyone has any tips they'd be willing to share, to get me going in the right direction.