Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paralleling PI output coupling caps with a switch

Hi there,

I am slowly planning out a Vox AC30/6 top boost build and am thinking about putting in a few switches to change the voicing of the amp.

This may be crazy but I was thinking about putting in a switch (4 pole) to parallel the 0.047 PI output coupling caps C6 and C9 (as found in the "Treble" model) with 0.1 caps for a total of 0.15 (as in the "Normal" model).

Any reason why this would be a bad idea?

I also wanted to do a few more switches, these seem (?) less problematic:

1. Split cathode (seen in "Treble" models) switch for Brilliant channel (1k5/0.1 cap)
    2. Bright switch for Normal channel (220pF)
    3. Switch for "Normal" or "Treble" model voicing for Cut control (paralleling C10 as a 0.0022 cap with same)

I'm a newb and still learning a lot so if it all sounds ridiculous, you'll know why...

For reference, schematics for AC30 "Normal" and "Treble" versions​

You won't hear the difference between .15u and .047u PI coupling caps. The change is too small and the frequency is too low. But more important would be that there is high voltage at the plates of the PI so it isn't safe to switch the caps parallel. That would mean the switch would have high voltage on it. What you could do instead would be to use two caps in series and use a switch to short across the DC isolated cap. So no high voltage on the switch. Use .15 caps off the PI plates and follow those with .068 caps. Use the switching to short the .068 caps. Resulting value of .04678 (close enough). But as I said, you won't hear it. And further it just makes for more length on signal leads increasing the possibility of instability.