Fender Bassman Ten tone mods

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fender Bassman Ten tone mods

Hi all, newbie here. Bear with me, please.

A dear friend GAVE me a `72 Bassman Ten. He bought it trashed, replaced the speakers (w/120 watt QSL woofers), re-tubed, sat the bias (it's been "blackfaced", so it does have a real bias knob in it). It never suited him, as he couldn't get it to overdrive, and I begged him not to hack it up.

I use it with my Boss GT-6, running the left output to channel 1, the right to channel 2 The best sound I can get out of it is with ALL the pre-amp knobs dimed, bright switch on, deep switch on, & regulate the volume with the master volume. I LOVE the deep, percussive bass, but I really have to tweak the EQ on the GT-6 to get sufficient highs from it. Yeah, I know, turn the bass down on the amp...but when I turn the bass down, or even turn off the Deep switch, it loses something that I really like. I'd like the option of plugging in straight, without my pedalboard, and just jump the 2 channels together.

My warped idea is, change the caps on the normal channel to brighten things up, & leave the bass channel bass-y. Since I use both channels, I THINK I could blend the 2 together to get the sound I want.

Any thoughts, warnings, other ideas? It's SO CLOSE to being perfect, if it just had some more high end cut. It IS perfect if I stack my Hot Rod Deluxe on top & back it's bass off, but that's a lot more to haul, and it's harder to keep a lid on the volume with 2 amps.

Changing the coupling caps doesn't really add highs, it takes some of the bottom out of it, but it may still give the desired result. Have you considered changing out a couple of the speakers? It could be that your speakers are really bassy. A couple of brighter speakers may balance things out.

Comment