Louder?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Louder?

Hey everyone, I am new to working with amps. Is there any way to make my 30W Peavey Delta Blues a 60W? Thanks, John.

Short & sweet.
    Easily change the amp to 60 watts?
    No.
    Then again you can gut it & replace everything from the power transformer, output transformer & output tube circuit.

Comment

That would make the amp just 3db louder. Replacing the speaker with one 3db more efficient than the stock speaker will do the same thing.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

add a 4x12 ....

-g

Comment

The following is from the Tube Amp FAQ at New Page 1, essentially unchanged since its first posting in 1992:

How can I modify my Blender Tweety Bird amp to be as loud as a Marshall Major/AC30/Tweed Bassman/SVT/etc.?

(Alternatively, how can I make my amp twice as loud/more power/ etc.?)

You can't do this in a low power amp, at least not electronically. To put out the power the big amps put out, you need the entire power train to be as beefy as the big amps. This means bigger power transformer, rectifiers, filter capacitors, output transformer, more power tubes, bigger chassis, more ventilation to carry off the heat, lots of things. You can't just add a couple of tubes.

An amplifier is properly thought of as primarily a big power supply that has some extra junk tacked onto it to carefully let a little of the power out to the speakers under special, controlled circumstances.
          Amazing!! Who would ever have guessed that someone who villified the evil rich people would begin happily accepting their millions in speaking fees!

Oh, wait! That sounds familiar, somehow.

Comment

All good points so far.

I'd step back one step though and ask: WHY?