Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Heater Pin-outs; similar tubes

Hi all,

I have a Gilmore Jr kit amp from Guytronix/Gerhart, and I want to test out some different output tubes. The stock tube is 6N1P, and this can be substituted with a 12AU7, 12AT7 or ECC99 if the pinout for the heaters is changed.

As far as I can tell all of these tubes have an identical pinout, so I can't quite understand why the 6N1P seems to be the exception here. The 6N1P has heater wires going to #4 and #5, but not #9. I assume, but haven't verified, the 12A?7 would have wires going to #4/5 and #9. Can somebody explain this to me? I'm new to tube tinkering.

Also, the 6CG7 (noval replacement for 6SN7) seems like it would also work as a substitute. Does anyone know which heater pinout configuration this tube would require (i.e. same as 12AU7 or same as 6N1P).

Thanks in advance for any help here,

Tim

Ok, on further inspection it seems I misinterpreted the pinout diagrams. I may have answered this question for myself (?). The 6N1P & 6CG7 have a shield seperating the two triodes, connected to pin #9, whereas the 12A?7 has the filament connected to #9. Is this correct?

Also (and don't laugh too hard at this one) do you always read pin-out diagrams as though you were looking at the bottom of a tube (or soldered end of a socket)?

Comment

Tim,

Originally posted by Tim Hall View Post
      Hi all,
      I have a Gilmore Jr kit amp from Guytronix/Gerhart, and I want to test out some different output tubes. The stock tube is 6N1P, and this can be substituted with a 12AU7, 12AT7 or ECC99 if the pinout for the heaters is changed.

As far as I can tell all of these tubes have an identical pinout, so I can't quite understand why the 6N1P seems to be the exception here. The 6N1P has heater wires going to #4 and #5, but not #9. I assume, but haven't verified, the 12A?7 would have wires going to #4/5 and #9. Can somebody explain this to me? I'm new to tube tinkering.