I'm in WAY over my head...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm in WAY over my head...

O.K... There's this heavy hitter in the guitar do dad world and he's going to try getting into amps again. He's a friend of a friend. Anyway, he's over at my friends house and gets the chance to play through one of his amps that I did ALOT of modification to. So this heavy hitter says to my friend "I'm about to buy an amp company, I'd like to talk to the guy who built this amp." So my friend calls me up and I head straight over. I get to jam with this guy (who, thankfully, was as rusty as I am) and he tells me he wants me to build him an amp from scratch so he can see what my designs sound like. So I do. And he loves it. Now we're talking turkey about my level of involvement and the next steps...WOAH!!!

The rub is that I'm a hack... I am not an engineer and I've never studied electronics. I'm a hobbiest with about 17 years on/off experience, so I get around an amp pretty well. But the R&D for something like this is going to prove challenging for a guy who is math impaired like me. Hell, I don't even own an O-scope. Don't get me wrong. There are alot of guys who are supremely more qualified for this opportunity than me. But they don't build better sounding amps. Still, I'm feeling the pressure.

I'm going to keep the smoke and mirrors going for as long as I can. I hope I can lean on you guys for some support when I get stuck. This is a much needed change in my life right now...WOOO HOOO!!!

Chuck
    Last edited by Chuck H; 08-16-2007, 02:02 AM.
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz