CCS explained

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CCS explained

Hello. Complete newbie regard CCS. Found this schematic on internet .May someone explain how it works (for ignorants) ? and how can be adjusted in respect with negative supply voltage and constant current please ? I.m tempted to adapt this to a -100v negative source to assure 2 mA constant current to 12ax7 cathodes. Thanks.

Click image for larger version  Name:	20230115_193012.jpg Views:	0 Size:	73.4 KB ID:	976404
    Last edited by catalin gramada; 01-15-2023, 05:42 PM.
    "If it measures good and sounds bad, it is bad. If it measures bad and sounds good, you are measuring the wrong things."

The R8,R10 potential divider sets 23V across R10, subtracting 1V for the Vbe of Q1 puts 22V across R12 (2k2) which defines a current of 10mA for Q1 emitter and collector (ignoring the small base current). 10mA is 5mA for each half of V1. 5ma across R9 is a voltage drop of 5 x 39 = 195V. B+ is 335V, 335V - 195V gives a plate voltage of 140V
    Last edited by Dave H; 01-15-2023, 06:17 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Dave H View Post
      The R8,R10 potential divider sets 23V across R10, subtracting 1V for the Vbe of Q1 puts 22V across R12 (2k2) which defines a current of 10mA for Q1 emitter and collector (ignoring the small base current)
      Ok. I got it. Thank you. How the values of R8, R10 divider was choosed, arbitrary ? Do we need a certain current to pass through negative supply - R10 - R8 string please ?
      Last edited by catalin gramada; 01-15-2023, 06:27 PM.
      "If it measures good and sounds bad, it is bad. If it measures bad and sounds good, you are measuring the wrong things."

Comment

Originally posted by catalin gramada View Post

Ok. I got it. Thank you. How the values of R8, R10 was choosed, arbitrary ?
        They must have run out of 10k

I'd chose the value so that the potential divider current is large compared to Q1 base current.

Comment