Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• maxing out a cheap guitar

Tone quester here.

This is my first post in this forum,and I'm new to the "game". I,ve owned a few higher priced guitars in my 32 years of playing, the most expensive being a Rickenbacker 360(my Beatles period), but my latest is for stock tone and playability, the best I've ever played. It's hard to believe, but it's
    a Kramer Focus 111s. You are probably stunned or think me a brick short, but it's the truth. That said, it does have some issues, or at least things that I wish
    to change. The guitar plays great unplugged. I'm not lying when I say that it's unplugged sound is quite acoustic and it has more volume and sustain than
    anything that I've played. However, I know that I can do much better working on it's amplified sound. I plan on a complete re-wiring, shielding, and replacement of pick-ups. I plan to use Bill Lawrence noiseless pick-ups(I have used them before), and install his Q-filter making it switchable. I've never done a complete circuit
    change like this before. The soldering is no problem, as I used to be an avionics electronic assembler. However the existing wiring is the most ungodly tangle of
    a rat's nest that I've ever seen. I really don't know how to get started with it. I'm not even sure that I could "draw up" the rat's nest without taking out the whole harness and trying to untangle it first. I haven't been able to locate a wiring diagram for this model of Kramer, or really much else in the way of specs. I know that I'm probably asking the impossible here, but any advice would be greatly apperciated. I'm afraid that I'm just goint to have to tear into it one wire at a time and do alot of resoldering. Tonequester.