New to guitar wiring.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to guitar wiring.

I have a set up on my squire strat that was done about 8-9 years ago by a friend of my dad. It's has a dirty finger on the rail and I believe the other 2 are 62' strat pickups?? He wired them up to a 3 way switch, and gave me two volumes. So I can blend the Dirty finger with the sc's or turn the volume on the sc's off and go all df.

I got the crazy idea to paint the guitar and replace the pick guard. When I took the pick guard off and looked at the wiring it didn't look like it was done very well... There was also one wire just hanging off the switch not a attached to anything? When the guy was building this set up he was high as a kite... Probably in a different dimension...

Can anyone point me to a good setup. I'm new to guitar wiring and haven't picked up a soldering iron in years, but the best way to learn is dive in head first, right? The dirty finger only has 1 wire btw.. He's soldered it to the top of every pot and ended it at the switch. Seems a little strange to me?

Anyway.. Any help, suggestions, ect... would be VERY much appreciated!

Thanks

Originally posted by cmaxw640 View Post
    I have a set up on my squire strat that was done about 8-9 years ago by a friend of my dad. It's has a dirty finger on the rail and I believe the other 2 are 62' strat pickups?? He wired them up to a 3 way switch, and gave me two volumes. So I can blend the Dirty finger with the sc's or turn the volume on the sc's off and go all df.

I got the crazy idea to paint the guitar and replace the pick guard. When I took the pick guard off and looked at the wiring it didn't look like it was done very well... There was also one wire just hanging off the switch not a attached to anything? When the guy was building this set up he was high as a kite... Probably in a different dimension...