Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tone cap values on mongrel guitar

Hi Folks,
    This is my first time around here. I've put together a Kay Red Devil I'm trying to turn into a Guild/Gretsch mongrel. I've got a High Sensitivity Filtertron in the neck, and a DynaSonic in the bridge. All my pots are 500K Audio, and my caps are ,047. It ain't happenen' yet. Nuklheadcentral suggests REALLY small value caps for versatility, and I see that Gretsch uses .022. Nuklhead says use like .0068. Also, when I'm in the center select position, unless the Filtertron is full-on, it vanishes in the mix. I'm out in left field here, where to start? Thanks in advence for any and all help

0.0068 is quite small for a tone cap. I believe most tone caps fall in the 0.01uf to 0.068 uf range. 0.047 is very common but takes off alot of the highs.

The good things about caps are they are cheap. For the sake of trying values you can buy cheapo ceramics, then when you have the value you like you can "upgrade" to poly or PIO or whatever you like..

I would start with 0.033uf, then drop down to 0.027, then 0.022 and then 0.015. The lower the number, the less highs are rolled off. I like 0.015 in the neck and 0.022uf in the bridge myself.

Comment

Originally posted by belwar View Post
      I like 0.015 in the neck and 0.022uf in the bridge myself.
      +1

I even like .022 on some of my basses. Both pickups on with the .022 tone rolled down sounds really cool.
      It would be possible to describe everything scientifically, but it would make no sense; it would be without meaning, as if you described a Beethoven symphony as a variation of wave pressure. — Albert Einstein

http://coneyislandguitars.com
      www.soundcloud.com/davidravenmoon

Comment

.022uf is a real common vintage value tone cap for guitar, I'd star there.... .047uf kills treble, especially with any kind of buckers. Best used for single coils.
        http://www.SDpickups.com
        Stephens Design Pickups