What to start off with

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to start off with

I'm new to pickup winding as you may have seen in my first post and have been trying to wind bridge pickups with 5500-5800 winds, Alnico 2 smooth and roughcast magnets but have had limited success. My favourite pickup is the Super 57 (Alnico 2, 5750 winds on each bobbin), but I can't get close to it. My pickups always come out a bit grainy sounding, like they're lacking power and sizzle. I think it's partly the magnets I'm using as I have heard the 57 Classic, 57 Classic+ and Super 57 use slightly thicker more powerful alnico 2 magnets, but anyway. I want to take a step back and start off with something easy. Would you guys recommend starting off with a T Top maybe? 5250 winds on each bobbin, 65tpl, Short Alnico2 or 5 magnet?

The way I'm going at the moment I don't feel like I'm getting anywhere. I've been trying different TPLs which I sort of have the hang of, I haven't messed with any particular winding patterns though, just keeping it even across the board. And just to be clear, I'm not here trying to swipe ideas so I can sell my pickups, I just want to have fun making different sounds and maybe make some for a few friends. It's just a bit disheartening when everything you make sounds bad!

You can swap magnets with the pickups you already made. Try A5 if it's got A2. Try winding a extra bobbin with higher tension, swap that out and see what difference it makes. If you're trying to duplicate a Gibson pickup, they are machine wound, so go nice and even no scatter.

Comment

Let's start at the basics.
      We need more info, and pictures would help.
      Are you playing the pickups with a cover on them?
      I suggest leaving the covers off until you get everything worked out.
      Are you potting your pickups?
      Are you using the old method of humbucker building?