Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pick up winder ideas

Hello
    I'm just getting started in winding pick ups and am looking for ideas for a cheap and simple winder set-up. I have looked on here and the best ones seem to be mini late style ones with a tail stock or at least have a flywheel/face plate to balance and smooth the spinning coil.

I have small lathes out in the garage but ideally I want something small like the Schatten to use in doors and the closest thing that I can see to that is to mod a small bench grinder. (decent horizontal shaft in bearings all aligned and mounted)

Has any one successfully used one like this? I have seen a couple on the web but all look a bit Heath Robinson. I think the main problem will be getting the speed down and making it varible between 0-750rpm. (Is that the correct range for pick up winding?)

I quite like the idea of fitting a hand wheel to the left side to start the first few turns by hand. The counter sensor could also be incorporated in to it to make it nice and neat.

Sorry for so many questions,maybe the sewing macine route would be easier?

Thanks in advance

I built this one. It is fairly inexpensive. I'm new to winding and didn't want to spend a huge amount either. I was also not too excited about the electric drill and sewing machine units on the web. This solves the counting and the motor control issue with some fairly simple electronics.

Pickup_Winder.wmv - YouTube

Matt

Comment

Cheers, are you going to post details? I wanted that type of screen read out but thought it would be to expensive.

Anyway I have spent a few hours in the workshop and come up with a working winder. The idea was to keep it cheap and as easy as possible. I used an old metal case as the basis, a 24v servo motor with a 3 ch encoder directly driving the faceplate. The index channel of the encoder sends the pulse to a rewired pedometer. all nice and compact.