Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1487 Silvertone with built-in amp questions

Hi all,

I was gifted a rare Silvertone guitar with a built-in amp and am working to bring it up to speed. I've addressed everything besides the electronics of it, so that's where I'm stuck. I understand there was an input for 2 9 volt batteries but it was missing, so picked up a couple of leads at Radio Shack but don't know how to wire it from there. I'm just learning up on circuits and such but thought I'd start with the basics to try to determine if there are any issues. One of the caps is pretty blistered up so expect I'll need to troubleshoot that. If anyone is game to help, please let me know and I can PM pictures of it all.

Thanks!
    DanClick image for larger version

Name:	Amp circuit.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	1.92 MB
ID:	870864
    Last edited by Danimal; 08-14-2016, 07:13 PM.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Amp - power.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	1.91 MB
ID:	843326
    Last edited by Danimal; 08-14-2016, 06:34 PM.

Comment

dang how did that happen!?

Comment

Schematic and other info can be seen here:
        Silvertone World - Electric Guitars - 1960s - Model 1445 Schematic & Manual
        Originally posted by Enzo
        I have a sign in my shop that says, "Never think up reasons not to check something."

Comment

Originally posted by Danimal View Post
          dang how did that happen!?
          You can go back an edit. Also, please add a photo that shows the complete back side of the pick guard so we can see all the existing parts and wiring.

Comment

Click image for larger version

Name:	Amp circuit.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	1.92 MB
ID:	843332

Comment

Thanks for the call out. I just did now.

Comment

Hi all, Did you get the correct wiring for the battery leads? I have the same issue with a Silvertone 1487. I know the pickup works as it plays on an amp but the batter leads were missing. Thanks!!

Comment

Originally posted by Esossa27 View Post