Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What holds the eyelet board in a 5e3?

Sorry - noob question:

I am just getting started on my first 5e3 kit. I'm used to poking around inside BF amps that have the eyelet board fastened to the chassis with a couple of sheet metal screws. But this board doesn't have any mounting holes, nor does the chassis. I noticed looking at pics of the insides of various 5e3's that there aren't mounting screws (that I could see anyway).

So, I can see how the wiring might hold the eyelet board in perhaps, but what about the insulating board underneath? What holds that in place if that's how it works?

Thanks!

Here is one I can answer since I asked the same question a while ago. Follow this thread. There are some good explanations and pictures. I used two sheet metal screws with PVC spacers from cleaning bigger wires between the boards and it seems to have worked perfectly. There are pics of where to drill your holes and all.

http://music-electronics-forum.com//...ad.php?t=11796

Comment

If you really want to locate the screws in a similar location as Fender, you might try and find images of a vintage 5E3 for the relative screw position. In truth being exact doesn't really matter other than for vintage asthetics.

Either way...

If using sheet metal or self tapping screw type, mark the chassis and drill pilot holes smaller than the screws themselves. You do not have to use that type of screw as a screw/nut combination would do just as well.

Hint...position the board inside the chassis so that the screws can be reached with the board fully populated. This will make future repairs and removal easier withour removing parts. Mark the holes to match the predrilld chassis and drill through both the board and the backing board.

* I would find these locations before you solder everything to the board (Dry fit to be sure.) Not necessary but perhaps good form.

No need for stand-offs.

Hope this helps.
      Mandopicker

Comment